Achievement unlocked!

…well, part of it anyway. 😛

One of the main parts of GW2 is exploration.  Each area has its own map with a certain amount of waypoints, vistas and points of interest to find as well as hearts (pseudo quest hubs) to complete.  Completing maps gives you rewards, but there’s an overarching achievement of getting 100% world exploration.  This is something I aim to do with one character.  There are people who have already finished this, but as you can see, I’m taking my sweet time!  I’m in no rush whatsoever to finish seeing this game any time soon. 🙂

The only part that had me wondering if I’d be able to complete this was the fact that you also have to explore the World vs World map completely.  The supply camps and skill points are no problem no matter who controls what, but the fact that you have to visit every tower and that there are vistas in some of those keeps as well had me frustrated given there’s no way a solo player could take a keep.  There are 3 borderlands that are exact copies and the eternal battleground. I’ve been grabbing some towers here and there when I notice our server controlling some bits of the map.  That’s become more frequent as I think matchups are becoming proper and also my server had some serious WvWers move to it.  During the beginning of the game, it was common to see my server being completely dominated by another.

The other night I happened to notice my server was doing well and controlled, well, everything, so exploring I went!  It was late at night so I rarely ran into any enemy.  Only once was I surprised by 3 enemies and wtfpwnd. It was at a really unfortunate time as well as I was doing the part of a map that was the farthest away from a waypoint.  I luckily picked the right order in which to explore before the enemy started retaking towers and actually finished the entire WvW map!  It feels good to have gotten that out of the way and I’m extremely grateful for the players who took control of the map! *bows*

I don’t completely agree with a PvP area being part of a nearly PvE achievement.  Apparently WvW only contributes 1% to world completion.  I’m not alone in thinking this as there have been threads started with titles such as “Why do I have to play this crap?” on GW forums.  Whilst I’d like to do more WvW, I think I’ll always like PvE more.  And the fact is, anyone going into WvW to explore is taking up a potential valuable spot in the world.  I don’t think this is a problem on a small server like mine, but it could well be on the larger servers that experience hours long queues.  Whilst I’ve just proved you don’t have to group up to get these areas done, I think I was incredibly lucky during a small amount of time that our server was dominating.  Otherwise people may have to rely on luck and grouping to finish this which I don’t agree with.  Also, I highly doubt serious WvWers appreciate people coming into just explore either.

In any case, I’m relieved to have that bit out of the way.  Now I can properly enjoy WvW instead of stressing over falling behind whilst getting a vista or wishing we’d gone to that other tower as I needed its point of interest!

Categories: exploration, Guild Wars 2, pvp, woot | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Achievement unlocked!

  1. Hehe. Your completionism knows no boundaries for worlds or games. 😀
    Yay for you siezing the moment!

  2. Haha, this is true. I even try to get achievements in single player games. 😛 I guess it’s a need to experience it all! One you understand. 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

