Into the Wide World of Mods

I’m not sure why, but I had the itch to play Skyrim again.. well.. perhaps listening to the soundtrack did it. 😛  I’d played quite a bit of the game and have an awesome sneaky dual-wielding heavy armor character, but I’d never actually finished the main story.  I was trying to pace it out whilst completing other bits of the map.

I’d seen how lovely other people have made their game so I’m trying to sort out improving the look of mine before I start playing.  I mean, it’s pretty but it can be a heck of a lot better.  I’d first set out to get some quality of life things and also a helmet hider as this is what my character has been sporting:

I have several like that that are awesome stat wise, but goodness are they horrible looking to me. 😛

I of course got distracted by even more mods as I used Ravanel’s post as a starting place.  Of course one would want a pretty looking character.  I no longer have a screenshot of my toon, but found this picture that looked very much like what I had:

It was a bit of a learning curve installing the mod manager and then learning how certain mods worked or load order (and also found I’d have to update my game before getting many of the mods I wanted), so I started out small with Apachii Sky Hair and Better Females.  I was pretty happy with how it improved the faces and ended up with this:

But then I saw it… and couldn’t unsee it.  I’d created an ingame Kim Kardashian! 😦

Two more mods later (which I’ll have to link later as the mod site is down) one which had way more lovely eye options and another that added more sliders, I ended up with this:

Much better! It’s a pretty amazing makeover when you look at what I started with.  Maybe she’s a bit *too* pretty, but she looks a bit less glam in the open world:

Next up is improving the world of Skyrim and hope that my pc can run it!

Categories: Skyrim | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Into the Wide World of Mods

  1. drul

    For Mods load order there is great little programm called BOSS. It’s not absolutely perfect 100% of the time, so it still may be good to know what you’re doing BUT it can save insane amount of time 🙂

  2. Yeah I saw that when watching a tutorial for.. something… it suggested not to use it at first so as to actually learn what load order is and how it worked, but I think I’ll soon be lazy and start using it as my mod list grows. 😛

  3. drul

    Hehe. It’s good to read mod description / FAQ on Nexus at least though. Sometimes mods can conflict with each other, not often but it happens. Anyway – don’t be disheartened – at first learning to mod and modding itself can take alot of time, but once you get through hard begginings it get’s much more comfortable.
    Not only Skyrim – many single player and even some non-mmo multiplayer games have great mods, sometimes literally entirelly whole new games on same engine. Like Nehrim modfor Oblivion, which is entirelly new game, new IP and considered much better than Oblivion itself by many.

    Besides what I am talking about. It seems like you really have nice start in modding, judging from your blog post and screenshot 🙂

  4. Yeah, it took a couple of hours before I braved my first mod. ^^

    That’s interesting about Oblivion. I’ll have to google that. I noticed there’s content mods on the skyrim nexus as well.

    I can’t access the website right now (it was actually down earlier, but now Is it Down for Just Me? is saying it’s up… but it still won’t load), so QQ, no more beautification of the game for the moment!

  5. drul

    website of Nehrim mod is http://www.nehrim.de

    I also don’t really hold gaming press in high regard, but well I will make an exception this one time. That’s what PC Gamer wrote:
    http://www.pcgamer.com/2011/01/11/pc-gamer-uss-games-of-the-year-awards/5/

    “It’s a total conversion for a four-year-old game (The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion), but Nehrim is so impressive that it was a contender not just for best mod, but for best RPG. Nehrim is massive, witty, occasionally vicious, incredibly ambitious and tremendously successful at injecting new life into a game that many of us have already played so much that we could scarcely imagine seeing anything new come out of it. Its world is wonderfully resolved—settlements look sensibly planned, residents have purposeful vocations, forests are dense and geography looks natural.

    The dedication shown by the modders who took Nehrim from concept to realization is astonishing. Only on the PC do gamers have such power to shape their experiences.”

    Only minus is that voice-overs are done in German(took a bit of time to get used to for me), but on the other hand it’s not commercial product and they do have voice overs ! 😮 There is english version that provide subtitles and other text, menus, etc in english of course.

    Yeah Nexus was having some problems I think yesterday. Was down for me as well, seems everything is working again though. Anyway good luck with your modding and have fun with it 🙂

  6. I’m not sure how I was able to overlook this post at all. But I did, and I feel stupid about it. *pulls hair out*

    Either way, I’m happy the mods did the trick for you, looks much prettier now indeed!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

